Arlo Cams coming in few weeks

Time to throw the welcoming party, yet?

Here is a pic from the ST Twitter account. Lower right corner is Arlo on display.

Yup, that’s the one that prompted me to tweet…

This MIGHT be awesome :wink:
I’ve been holding off getting cameras for 2 years as every integration is usually a mildly documented hack by a ST enthusiast (kudo’s to them all) or unsupported in one way or another over the ST spectrum.
It would be really nice if we could see stills and live feeds (record locally) from the ST app and have it show up in SmartTiles without too much magic - 5000+ lines of thread reading to get the connection up and running for the camera of you choice.

1 Like

Beware of one issue with the wireless Arlo cams. Randomly they tint the video to pink and it can’t be fixed. You have to send it in to Netgear to have it replaced (with a refurbished one). I know of this because one of mine just did this, and I started the process today. According to what I read on the Arlo community forum, this happens randomly and is a known issue.

1 Like

@cdmobile What has been your experience with Arlo, inside & outside use? I’m looking at Blink, Samsung models, and the more traditional wired setups.

“in the coming weeks”.

:rolling_eyes:

1 Like

Thanks for the heads up. How long have you had yours? I had mine over a year.

@Zatman my experience was great, I didn’t have any issues with the two I have. Both outdoor. The wire free is really convenient but it does come with two disadvantages. One you need easy access so you can change the batteries and then there is the latency. It takes me up to 20 seconds to load the live feed. I tried everything I could to improve it, with no success. Comparing to the Nest cams, which I have indoors, Arlo is pretty much useless to see who is at the door in real time. It does have 7 days of recording free, which is nice, and its motion sensor is much better than Nest.

I think it was @tyler in disguise…responding to my tweet