Android Wear and SmartThings

Ok so yesterday I did something that shocked my wife…I jumped ship from my iPhone to Android…

I am a big watch fan (have had a pebble for six months) and the opportunity to get an Android Wear watch for 50% off with a new phone (LG G3 and all the cool stuff I can do with it was too tempting!

So has anyone else here got the same or similar setup and done anything with ST to get the benefit of voice control?

I have seen videos of people running voice commands to turn on and off lights etc which I think is just being done with endpoints and Tasker with Google Now Integration but curious to see if anyone here has done anything as I am totally new to Android as an ecosystem! Oh and if @Ben_Edwards wants a Beta tester for any cool Android Wear integrations let me know!

1 Like

Tasker has no Google Now/Voice Search integration; it has its own voice recognition (via a plugin), but it’s clumsy compared to Google Voice Search (especially on always listening devices like the Moto X). For this to work like we would all like it to, Google needs to provide APIs for another layer like Moto X is using with Touchless Control (some commands bypass voice search and hand events to things locally).

I have no doubt that this is coming… but when? I dunno.

If you root your phone and use Xposed framwork and the google search API you can get this done. I have it working right now. But it always leaves your phone mic on and can cause some battery drain.

I don’t really recomend it and i have turned it off. BUT… I have been using the IFTTT integration to be able to control my lights with a touch of a button. Its pretty slick!

Can’t wait for STs to come out with a Android Wear app!! That will be killer when it happens :smile:

Also willing to BETA any android wear stuff :smile: … jus sayin

@scottinpollock @tslagle13