Alarm Control Panel

Hi,

I am relatively new to SmartThings, but I have setup some basic security at my home using SmartThings Multisensors, Aeotec Recessed Door Sensors and an Aeotec Siren. It works great using the built in SmartThings Home Security. Anytime my alarm is armed and a sensor opens, the siren goes off and some lights come on. Great. But painful to have to always have my phone to arm/disarm it. i.e. dogs wake me up and want to go out, but by the time I get to the door, I realize it’s armed and have to go back to the bedroom and get my phone to disarm it.

Is anyone aware of any Traditional alarm type control panels that could be wired in to the wall where an existing alarm used to be (such as ADT) and then we can associate a pin code to arm/disarm the SmartThings Security app?

Thanks and I hope I’m posting this in the right place. I’m a developer and love all this new tech and looking for a place to brainstorm ideas and improve this technology.

-Steve

1 Like

There’s a Centralite keypad which is popular. It’s sold under multiple brand names, including Lowes iris, Xfinity, and Centralite.

The reviews tend to be bad on the Iris site because when Lowes upgraded to their second generation hub, they forced people to upgrade to a different model of the keypad and it didn’t have all the same features as the first one and people got pretty mad about it.

But if you’re just buying the second generation keypad to work with SmartThings, most community members are satisfied with it.

Note that only the second generation one will work with SmartThings.

It’s often on sale at Lowe’s for about $29 if you want to wait for a sale.

https://www.amazon.com/Iris-Smart-Home-Management-3405-L1/dp/B01GCKAFX8

You will need community – created code to make it work. There are a couple of different versions that people have created. You can find these on the quick browse lists in the community – created wiki. Look in the device type handler section on the “security” list.