Adding "personal devices" to a room (and other stuff)

Hello everyone… I am new to SmartThings and to the forum. I have been mostly successful in linking my (mostly Samsung) devices to SmartThings… But I am having trouble with one in particular… an older Samsung smart TV. I am actually able to add the device from within SmartThings, but it is designated as a “personal device” - and in order for it to work correctly, I must create an entry in IDE for the same device using the “Unique ID” that corresponds to that TV. When both entries exist, I can control the TV as if from a remote - turn it off, volume, etc… anything you can do with the remote except turn it on… But the TV is characterized as a personal device, and I am unable to assign it to a room. Another symptom of the problem is that this device does not work unless I create a second device within IDE using the “Unique ID” specified for that device in the Smart Hub fields. The entry created by the IDE does not offer any remote functions, and while it says I can turn it off, it does not respond. The one that I created from within SmartThings can be accessed and controlled, but if I delete the IDE-created device, I lose the functionality. So in order for it to work, SmartThings must have two entries for the same device. If I delete the IDE device the other entry stops working. If I recreate it, it starts working again.

Any suggestions? Keep in mind I am technically inclined, but new to all of this SmartThings stuff.

Thanks!

Hey there! @wigi49, Welcome to the Community! :slight_smile: I’d be happy to provide some troubleshooting steps for your specific model to try.

What is the Model Code of the Samsung TV that you are having issues with? Is it connected via Ethernet or WIFI? You can locate the Model code within the support settings menu of your TV.