Wondering if Smart Alarm is capable of doing what I want it to do

I’m new to SmartThings, and after a day of of reading hundreds of posts I am not sure SmartThings can do that I want it to do without a huge time investment. I would love to be proven wrong but I don’t want to learn a new language only to find out SmartThings isn’t “there yet.”

Here’s what I want.

I want to be able to trigger a thing in the delay after the sensors are sprung and before the sirens go off. I see no options in Smart Alarm other than the delay length. Is there a simple way to do with without getting into complicated code? I have pets that freak if the siren goes off, so I do not want to risk false alarms.

I want a non-terrifying beep or a chime to play during the delay before my sirens are triggered. Are there any compatible things that play such a sound?

Yes this is very simple . Go into the Smartthings app, then go into the marketplace, then smart apps, then safety & security the app you want is called smart alarm . It lets you have a delay to enter/exit and you can also set it up to have a simple push notification for the alarm so your pets don’t get upset. Hope this works out for you .

Here is what I have done so far… Still not happy though.

I am using 2 Aeon sirens. One is wrapped with tape and stuffed in a box with insulation so it isn’t so loud, set to siren #5 and volume #1. This one is triggered from the Smart Home Monitor and runs for a minute (minimum length) when triggered.

I left the second one at default settings I have tied to the Smart Alarm and goes off after the 30 second delay.

So door opens, muffles siren beeps, then 30 seconds later if I don’t disarm, the loud siren goes off.

Problem here is that I can’t disarm the muffled siren by simply selecting a routine after it is triggered, I have to dismiss it from the Smart Home Monitor screen and that is really annoying an slow.

Check out Rule Machine, it should allow you to do this.