Which Harmony Remote?

harmony

(Ran) #1

I am new to ST and just not sure which remote I need/want. I have read some of the post, but some come with a hub, some don’t and well I just got myself all confused.
I have ST, light switches, blink, Amazon Echo’s, and I use Apple TV and Amazon Fire Stick.
I welcome your insight to those that are using Harmony, especially with the Harmony+Alexa feature!
Thank you

You need any harmony hub and any remote that will pair with the harmony hub. All harmony hubs are essentially the same after a firmware update.

(Scott) #3

I went with this one:

Logitech 996-000118 Harmony Smart Control with Smartphone App and Simple Remote (Refur… https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00L5H1IQM/ref=cm_sw_r_sms_api_XmipxbKE689M4

(Eric Bergan) #4

I went with Elite’s because of the design of the remote itself - the screen is back at the top. Been happy with them, except fo the cost and the screens a little sensitive.

(Joe) #5

I have the Harmony Hub and the Elite remote. Here is what my review on the device is:
I don’t hate it. I also don’t think it’s the best remote in the world. The rechargeable batter only lasts about 2 days and the integration with smartThings isn’t the best. Last I checked, you can only control the lights when launching activities and not with a button macro. So you could do things like press the Movie time activity and have your lights dim, but not press pause and have the lights brighten to 30%. (If this has changed, please someone correct me).

Personally I like using my phone as my remote. If that is something you think may interest you, check out

Simple Control
iRule

They require a little more custom setup, but integrate better with smartThings IMHO.

(Jimmy) #6

I went with the Harmony Smart Remote Control (915-000194) since it was the cheapest and my dog likes to eat remotes if we leave them within reach. Got the refurb model for $50 on an Amazon Deal of the Day.

(Ran) #7

I am going to try iRule as that sounds perfect!