Utilitech siren? (Same as Everspring siren SE812)

Had anyone made one of these units work recently? I’m on my second unit from Lowes and my hub absolutely sees nothing when I attempted to bind the siren. The hub is listening and the siren is looking but they just aren’t communicating. s
this is my second siren so I don’t think that’s the issue here. Has anyone made one work recently?

@jeff1, yes I’ve been using this siren for several months now. I recommend trying to exclude the device and then reincluding it into ST. Mine paired up the first pass, and I’m using the default device type - zwave siren. It doesn’t report battery status or have full functionality yet, but I plan on making my own device type very soon.

2 Likes

I have this siren also and it works great.

@johnconstantelo - Thanks, that did it!! Now of course I have another issue. The siren will sound if I manually turn it on, but if I use the “Smart Security” app to try to sound an alarm if certain motion sensors are tripped in a particular mode - it doesn’t make any noise. The app is working, I get the alert, etc. but the siren does nothing. Any ideas?

SOLVED - For some odd reason the SmartApp wants the setting “Yes” to be in place for “Silent alarm only”. If that is set to “No” then the siren makes no sound. Seems highly counter-intuitive!

-Jeff

Cool, glad that worked for you. I was just putting together a reply when I saw your edit.

I am also using the Utilitech siren and get the same behavior of being able to sound the alarm manually, but I cannot get any motion or open/close sensors to set off the alarm. I can see that all the commands are going to the alarm, but it just doesn’t make any noise or light up. I am also trying to use this from the SmartAlarm app and it won’t work from there either.

I bought two from Lowes and have tried them each separately and they both do the same thing. I must be doing something wrong.