Using code to drive my own Smarthings

There’s a lot to learn in the Smartthings Developer Portal. My need is to write routines for my own house, so I am not a vendor or manufacturer. But I am a programmer and instead of dealing with a small app I’d much rather write code. My needs are pretty simple which is turning lights on and off based on time, sunrise, sunset, presence and so on.

Given that I don’t want to use the App and given that I do want to write code (in any language) and given that I am on a mac, what tool and approach should I use?

Can I suggest instead that you first take a look at Webcore? It’s essentially a scripting language for SmartThings, and will probably give you everything you’re looking for (including a web interface and global variables). They even have their own forum. There are lots of sample scripts there (which webcore calls “Pistons,”) so take a look and see if it meets your needs. :sunglasses:

5 Likes

I couldn’t agree more. With webCoRE, you are essentially writing your own rules but with a lot less work. Yeah, I could write up some DOS commands and make Windows do stuff but the Smart folk over at Microsoft has already took all of the code and put it in a nice Graphical User Interface and all of the scripting language is done behind the scenes.

YMMV but IMHO, webCoRE is as simple or complex as you need it to be.

4 Likes

Thanks everyone, but the instructions are quite complicated and didn’t work. I couldn’t get this part to work. My iOS SmartThings app does not seem to have anything called marketplace.

What does the menu at the bottom of the screen in your ST app look like? Not like this?

Sounds like he’s using the new app. A couple options:

1. install the classic app and webcore
  2. from your limited examples, it sounds like the custom automation creator in the new app will work
2 Likes