Creating Automations in the Smartthing app

I am doing programming on the Smartthings app, programming Lutron Caseta switches. I have about 10 switches installed in our new home. The documentation for the app sucks and I am having to learn app programming in bits and pieces. While I am in the learning mode, I have been using a Lutron lamp module as part of my learning tools. It’s convenient as I have it right next to my desk. If I mess up a program/automation, I can just delete it and start over. I’ve been using smart home technology for about 40 years. I contemplating writing a book about programming with the app.

Sorry, I’m confused.

Do you mean you are using the built in rules engine and the official features in the smartthings app to create automations for your account?

https://support.smartthings.com/hc/en-us/categories/115000465506-SmartThings-App

Or do you mean you are using the developer tools either to write smartapps in the groovy language, the new rules API, or writing your own code and using the new platforms integration features to control your devices?

https://smartthings.developer.samsung.com/

Or are you using webcore, which is essentially a scripting language for the smartthings groovy platform, to create “pistons“?

FAQ: What is WebCoRE? (And what was CoRE?)

There aren’t actually any programming features in the official SmartThings app itself.

Guess I did not make myself clear.

I am using/programming built into the app. Not interested in developing any apps using the groovy platform.
Thanks for asking.

Ok, that’s a rules engine, not considered “coding” or “programming” in a SmartThings context. :sunglasses:

The rules engine has been evolving rapidly over the last year or so, but there’s a decent set of getting started articles in the official support knowledgebase:

https://support.smartthings.com/hc/en-us/categories/115000465506-SmartThings-App