Update for Wednesday, December 9, 2020
Beginning tomorrow, Dec 1, 2020, SmartThings will start shutting down the APIs and backend systems that support the Classic app. After tomorrow, users who have not migrated to the new app yet will experience significant disruptions. To ensure a predictable impact to users who have not migrated to our new app, SmartThings will take the following actions:
Routines - all unmigrated Routines will be deleted and cease working. Routines have become Scenes and Automations in the new app. Once Classic is shutdown, there will no longer be any options to control or edit Routines. To prevent unpredictable behavior at customers Locations, any schedules and subscriptions associated with remaining Routines will be stopped and the Routines will be permanently deleted.
Smart Home Monitor (SHM) - all active incidents will be cleared and all SHM settings will be deleted. SHM has been updated for the new app and is now called SmartThings Home Monitor (STHM). Once Classic is shutdown, customers will lose the ability to control SHM. In order to prevent a loss of control over incidents and settings, SHM incidents will be cleared and settings will be deleted in unmigrated Locations.
Lock Code Management - existing lock codes continue functioning locally on door lock devices and all Lock Code Management instances will be deleted. In countries where it is permitted, customers can use Smart Lock Guest Access to manage their locks. Lock codes previously managed in Classic will be stored locally on lock devices and can be edited through those devices native apps.
SmartThings Accounts that have not migrated to a Samsung Account will permanently lose access to their Locations. The new SmartThings app is designed to comply with global privacy regulations and requires the use of a Samsung Account. Beginning in 2018, SmartThings asked customers to migrate to Samsung Accounts to facilitate this compliance. Once the Classic app is shutdown, customers who have not migrated will permanently lose access to their SmartThings Accounts, Locations, Data and Devices. SmartThings is required to delete all user data within 30 days to comply with global privacy regulations, meaning these users must re-register with a Samsung account and rebuild their Locations in order to continue using SmartThings.
Thank you again to our users for your support through this transition. Please keep the feedback coming so we can continue to improve the experience in the new SmartThings app.
-The SmartThings Team