Understanding the creation and deletion of User Created Apps

I am reaching out looking for feedback from some more experienced code slingers.

I want to preface that I am no expert but I think I have a pretty good basic understanding of installing apps to control things.

First, I understand that the app is create through the IDE
Second, I understand that once it is published it is made available to the mobile app, in this case Android
Third, I use the mobile app to install the published app in order to connect it to various devices.
I have been told there can be multiple copies of the same published app running at any given time.

If I am incorrect on any of the above details feel free to correct me.

Assuming that the above is true, if I want to delete that same published app it requires that I search every device looking for any occurrence of that published app and uninstall it. In other words the published app cannot be attached to any device.

Next, using the android app I must go into the MyApp area and uninstall it from there.
Finally, I log into the IDE and delete the app from there.

Am I correct on this long laborious process? Feel free to correct me on this.

Now to the real reason I am posting this; for the second time in the past six months, I have been unable to uninstall and delete a self published app. I follow the above steps by first uninstalling the app from all the devices. Then when I go to Android MyApps, for the next phase of de-installation, and select uninstall it looks like it goes through the motions of removing the app except when it completes, the app is still there. The Android app gives no indication of any error. It simply won’t uninstall. This prevents me from deleting the app in the IDE because it is still installed on the mobile app.

Finally I must contact support to clean up the mess. Twice now they tell me there are multiple occurrences of the app installed and that is why I cannot delete it.