UK Outdoor Siren

Hi all,

I have spent sometime looking through old and recent posts for a solution to there being no Outdoor Siren’s under the Smartthings supported devices article available in the UK.

As a total rookie I have found a few threads that look promising but confusing, and I am hopeful that someone who has successfully implemented such solutions in the UK come across this post and can offer some advice.

The only requirements I have is that the siren will be waterproof, or at least modified to be waterproof and the configuration/setup is reliable that once done, there will be little upkeep required to keep it running.

I am new to these protocols used and platforms so I appreciate your help.

Thank you.

I’ve seen this https://www.vesternet.com/products/z-wave-popp-solar-outdoor-siren-2#description which is solar powered, but I don’t see any way to charge the battery if it needs it in the winter. Not sure I’d want to rely on it totally for security. I guess if you had more than one, just to be on the safe side…

@Dan_Newcombe
A lot of so called smart home alarm systems only have indoor sirens which is not what one ideally wants. A lot of other consumer alarms systems only have battery and/or solar powered sirens as they are sold as ‘wireless’ alarm systems, e.g. Yale.

Since a siren ideally needs to be positioned high enough to be out of reach of your average knuckle dragging crim I totally agree with the desire for a siren with a wired power connection even if it has the signalling done wirelessly. This avoids the need to get a ladder to reach and swap any batteries no matter how infrequent this happens.

It should be noted I have had both battery powered and solar with battery backup sirens fail completely.