Tuya Smart Life - How come no compatability

Hi all,

I’m not a developer so please go easy on me.

I’ve just got a SmartThings Hub and was wondering why there is no integration with Tuya / smart life? I’ve seen some posts around security on here but their new service (from what i believe) is on AWS in the EU and US. Also there is full documentation here (https://docs.tuya.com/en/cloudapi/device_access.html) around the API calls to get it working, and i’ve assuming this is why IFTTT have an integration into their platform.

thanks

Andy

I just flashed my Tuya devices with Tasmota firmware and used my own device handlers. That way it doesn’t rely on the Tuya cloud.

I think a lot of people with Tuya devices do something similar which is why there hasn’t been too much attention paid to cloud to cloud integration.

Thanks for the reply. I wasn’t aware of that but from the YouTube videos I have just seen of this it seems to be the WiFi drivers that this works for. I am actually interest in then intergration with their Zigbee hub as I have just purchased that, two PIR sensors, door sensor and temperature sensors. They work great but they are Zigbee not WiFi and don’t think they will pair with the SmartThings as I don’t think they use the version of Zigbee that smartthings uses. Hence the cloud integration question.

Thanks

This kind of integration normally only happens at a (large) company to (large) company level, as the companies offering the API often thoroughly vet other companies’ use and implementation of the API so as to make sure that users’ privacy and security is protected.