Trying To Use My Schlage Bridge With SmartThings APP with ZERO Success

Hi, my first post. We just moved into a home with Schlage Z-Wave locks and a Trane Z-Wave thermostat. The instructions seem to be Nexia-branded and everything tells you to install and buy a Nexia subscription. I did that, and it all works nicely. The bridge links with all my devices. However, I am trying to reduce the number of monthly subscriptions (bills) I get each month! Can SmartThings work with this Schlage Bridge. I was not able to add it on the app despite reading that others have done it. Am I missing something stupid here? I’m a network engineer and it’s really got me annoyed that I cannot figure this out!!

Lennar home? You would have to exclude it from Nexia and then pair it directly to SmartThings.

2 Likes

What’s the exact model of the lock?

The Schlage bridges do not work with smartthings, but they are not necessary because the zwave locks will connect directly to the smartthings hub. However, you will need to first exclude them (clear the controller information) from the lock in order to then include it to the SmartThings network.

See the FAQ (this is a clickable link)

2 Likes

Yes, a Lennar Home in Florida. We moved from the NYC area. I was too sick of the brutal winters. The taxes sucked also! The original owner from 4 years ago never this system with Nexia. He had no clue about “that Smart Home stuff”. I’ve been a player since the X-10 days! Despite that, no one from Lennar can help me with a code for the one year free access to Nexia. I do not have a SmartThings hub. I guess I have to make a decision…pay $10 per month forever, or whatever the cost of the new hub. I suspect they’re fairly cheap (less than $100), correct?

Anyway, all that being said, are you saying my Schlage Bridge will only work with Nexia?

Thanks, Billy!