TP-Link/Kasa Outlet Energy Readings

Because of Sense, I got some TP-Link/Kasa HS300s and EP25s and they work fine with Kasa and I can turn them on and off with SmartThings…oddly, enough there is a bug on the Sense portion that I am working with Sense on.

Anyway, I notice that the energy readings do not show up in SmartThings. Not really something I am going to flip out on but has anyone had any luck getting that information or is this a Feature Request for SmartThings.

If you have a ST hub @BarryA has written an edge driver for single end point Kasa switch and plugs that brings the power reporting in ST. With this driver the plug and switches work locally with you ST hub

1 Like

Thank you very much. Is there something I can use to figure out how to apply that driver? I am completely new to the Edge Drivers portion.

Go to the link in the 2nd post and install the driver, then run add device and scan nearly. The devices should show up in the room with your hub.

I looked at the link. I am a bit confused on how to apply it to the outlets I have. Do I need to delete them and put them back in? There seems to be no way to just tell SmartThings to apply these new drivers. Sorry if this seems basic. These Edge drivers have been quite confusing. I was fine with the old method. There is still a large learning curve with me.

You can do it either way. You can delete c2c devices first then pair them with Edge or you pair them with Edge first then delete the c2c devices. If you do it the 2nd way you will temporarily end up with duplicates.

Once paired you my want to eliminate the Kasa linked service if possible to prevent future duplicates.

1 Like

I installed the driver and I see it in the list in my hub under drivers. Then I removed the plugs. Then, I re-linked the cloud account and imported the plugs back in. Still no energy information.

You don’t relink accounts.