ST Disconnects iPad (Spotify) from Sonos

I’m new to all of this so please let me know if I should post more details or info where required.

This is what I have (italicized items are available but not used in the current logic):

• ST Hub
  • Sonos Play 5
  • Echo
  • Harmony
  • iPad with Sonos and Spotify

This is what I’m trying to do:

When playing music from my iPad (or Echo) on the Sonos Play 5 I’ve setup an ST ‘Speaker Notify with Sound’ called “test message” that simply tells Sonos to play a message from ST “This is a test message”. I have Resume currently playing music after notification set to true (on).

This is what’s happening:

Music is playing, I click the “play” button from the ST app and it plays the message as expected. However it appears the iPad is disconnected from Sonos and music does not restart.

I’ve searched on these forums for similar issues/solutions but haven’t turned anything up. Asking the community for ideas or examples to follow. I’m a software guy to so custom Smart Apps are of interest but ideally I’d like to keep this simple through the integration.

It would be ideal for ST to ‘interrupt’ what Sonos is doing at the moment, but this doesn’t appear to be the case.

Thanks in advance for any ideas, advice and/or support.

1 Like

I can’t believe that you searched the forum and couldn’t find anything. That is one of the biggest complaints in here about Sonos is that it doesn’t resume music after an ST announcement. Just search for Sonos & you’re bound to have plenty of reading to keep you busy.

@RLDreams thanks for the advice. I did search for ‘Sonos’ and combinations of ‘Sonos’ + ‘Notifications’ + ‘Resume’, etc. (I ran a big tech community for years so I know as a newb to search first) and while it turned up 50 discussions, none seemed to discuss this issue in any detail and most were 1 to 2 years old.

If it’s a big complaint in here I’m not seeing it through search. Where am I failing here?

1 Like