SmartThings Motion Sensors

Hi there,

I’m fairly new to SmartThings. All my lights in my house are Hue Color lights (yes, it cost me a pretty penny… I got sucked in hard after seeing what it can do), with the exception of my two bathrooms, which use three GE Link bulbs in each.

I bought a SmartThings hub specifically so I could automate my garage door with MyQ. I got that working perfectly. But then I decided to buy some motion sensors to automate the bathroom lights dependent on motion.

I have the rules set up in Rule Machine and they work wonderfully. The only problem is I think the motion sensors are too quick to judge inactive motion. I could sit on the toilet and do my business and the lights would turn off.

I even adjusted the timer to include a one-minute delay, but I still feel the sensor is too quick to the draw, and increasing the delay defeats the whole point of automating the lights to save energy.

Does anyone know of a solution on how to fix the sensitivity of the motion sensor to prevent this from happening?

Thanks for any help!

In the rule right? You’re talking about the cancellable off timer?

Depending on location, 5-10 minute delays are pretty common…

running your Upgraded LED light bulbs for an extra 3 or 4 minutes at a time isn’t going to break the bank…

Different motion sensors have different configurable options, and different device handlers might have different options. What model / DTH are you using?

Okay, so the LEDs aren’t going to be a huge energy hog, but at night when all my other lights are dimmed for a scene, and someone uses the bathroom/walks out, I don’t want the bright bathroom light to shine for five minutes before it shuts off.

I’m using the official Samsung SmartThings motion sensors.

I have changed length of lights on triggered by motion in relation to mode: night, home, away, etc. modes are your friend for scheduling stuff like this.