Smartthings Hub V3 does not work in Canada

I am new to ST and bought Smartthings Hub V3 directly from Samsung.com site trying to use in Canada. First, I download the classic app, then it keep asking a code to add the hub. Second, I download the new Smartthings App (smartthings connect), and followed the instruction of adding new V3 hub:

• devices,

then choose Manually Add Devices,
choose Wi-Fi / Hub
there are only 3 devices listed: Samsung Connect Home; Samsung Smartthings Wifi; Smarthings hub STH-ETH-200, STH-ETH001. There is V3 IM6001 listed.

I called ST support line, she told me that new V3 hub does not support in Canada and there is no estimated time for release to support V3 working in Canada.

Now I have to process to return the new Hub. Sad

You might want to wait just a few days.

Various Canadian customers are experimenting with Android settings, etc., etc., that may get the Hub connected.

I don’t know exactly how successful anyone has been yet… But I’m optimistic.

I can confirm that ST hub v3 works in Canada once setup via VPN and location spoofing. I will try to get instructions to set it up.

2 Likes

Glad to know. I tried turning on VPN on my cell phone, but the app still does not show Hub V3 on the list. I am new to this, may need to figure out how to location spoofing.

Wouldn’t you need to connect your home network to a VPN? You want to make Samsung’s servers think that your hub is not in canada.

It shouldn’t matter where your phone appears to be connecting from.

I am on Bell internet with Bell’s modem hub in basement, home network is going through a TP-link POE switch to other floors. Smartthings Hub will be located beside TP-Link Switch in the basement. No idea how to route a VPN by using Bell’s modem.