Smart Life 3 Gang Power switch

Hey there
I’m a technician but new to ST and ZigBee,

I use several Smart Life ZigBee Power switches. 1gang and 2gang work well, but for the 3gang switch I get only 2 controls and I do not know to add a 2nd child device to control the 3rd gang.

Connection process
App - add device - start connection on switch - fails but it appears as “Thing” in the device list. Then change the Type to “ZigBee Switch Power” for the 1gang and “ZigBee Multi Switch” for 2gang - everything is find. But for the 3gang I get only ONE child control so I can only control 2 of the 3 switches.

The child has the same ntwork id suffixed by :02
I tried to manually add a child device with suffix :03 or :04 but it does not help.

Any idea?

regards
Michael

Hi!

Hopefully someone more familiar with that brand will be able to help you.

Meanwhile, A small note on the Terminology, just to make sure we’re all talking about the same thing.

I believe you are referring to a “three gang“ switch, not a “three-way“ switch.

A three way switch is when two switches control the same light fixture. For example, this is quite common for a staircase, where there will be one switch at the top of the stairs and one switch at the bottom of the stairs but they both turn on the same light.

A three gang or triple gang switch is when there are three controls in the same switchbox or on the same device, but each controls a different light or scene.

and to make things even more confusing, the terminology for the US and for the UK/EU are a little different. A “three-way“ set up in the US is the same as a “Two way“ setup in the UK.

“Gang” is used the same way in both regions, but the physical form of the switches is a bit different.

This is a “three gang“ switch, which I think is what you’re asking about.

Here’s a good explanation for the UK:

Also, The first rule of home automation applies, particularly for multi gang switches. That is, “the model number matters.“