Schlage BE469 Deadbolt, Aeotec Repeater and Connectivity Issues

Hi everyone, I’m fairly new at ST home automation scene (long time x10 user but recent convert to ST) but like what i’ve seen so far, especially the focused and dedicated member posts in these forums!

I have a STv2 hub with three Schlage BE469 deadbolts, three First Alert Smoke/CO2 sensors, a Chamberlain MyQ, a v2 MiniMote and Aeotec Repeater.
[Apologies in advance for the long post…]
Everything works great except for one of the deadbolts that happens to be the furthest away from the hub. I decided i needed an Aeon Labs Aeotec DSD37-ZWUS range extender. Before installing the deadbolt on the door and adding it to ST, I added the repeater was added to ST first.

At first, i thought the repeater (whose signal has to traverse at least four interior drywall-based walls) successfully added to ST. It shows up in ST as, “Z-Wave Device”, had on/off & Refresh buttons in the ST GUI app on my phone. For awhile its status showed as “On” but after installing it 12 hours ago its status now says, “Off” and under “Recently” it now says “Switch is off”. While its status was “On” I successfully added the deadbolt to ST by executing the whole operation while the deadbolt was only 1 foot away from the repeater. After reinstalling the deadbolt on my door (10ft line of sight from the repeater) i was not able to control the lock from ST. I suspect that the beaming traffic for the join-hub operation didn’t flow through the repeater but was now just within range of the hub that it was able to connect and handshake but who knows. I find it frustrating that there’s no way for me to confirm the way this traffic flowed!