Ring Spotlight Battery

I am wondering if the spotlight only, non-camera works with smartthings? All of my cameras work great, but I didn’t know about the light only work?

Looking to have a light turn on when there is Motion at my doorbell. And when Motion stops, it turns off.

Thanks for the help!

Tagging @perduewv

I have no experience with the non-camera Ring spotlights, so I am not really sure. They aren’t listed in the IDE, but it’s really hard to say when their stuff is so contradictory right now.

For example…

The new ST App shows these devices as being supported

• Floodlight Cam
  • Spotlight Cam Mount
  • Spotlight Cam Wired
  • Stick Up Cam Battery

The old ST App only shows these devices

• Ring Floodlight Cam
  • Ring Spotlight Cam Mount
  • Ring Spotlight Cam Wired

and, the IDE shows these device handler types

• Ring Doorbell
  • Ring Doorbell Pro
  • Ring Floodlight Cam
  • Ring Spotlight Cam Battery
  • Ring Stickup Cam Battery
  • Ring Stickup Cam Wired

As you can see, the new App and the old App both show the Spotlight Cam Mount as being supported, but it’s not listed in the IDE and I have not been able to get mine to connect (through either app)… yet.

I do, however, have a Spotlight Cam Wired (which is listed in both old and new apps, but not in the IDE) and it is working perfectly. ST automatically assigned the device handler type of Ring Floodlight Cam to it. Would ST automatically assign a working device handler type to a non-camera spotlight? I’m inclined to believe probably not, because of the missing camera attributes, but at this point, :woman_shrugging:

1 Like

Well I wonder if there is a way to make it accomplish what I want still? I hate to spend $100 on something that I can’t use…

I use motion from my Ring Doorbell Camera to trigger a few lights at night and this has been working well for me for almost a year now.