Outdoor open/close sensor?

Any one know of a good weatherproof open/close sensor similar to the ST multipurpose sensor that works with ST. I’m new to all this stuff and would like such a sensor for my back gate. Thanks

What’s the weather like where you live? I only ask because batteries don’t do well in extreme temperature and if it gets super cold or super hot where you live, your best bet would be to look into some kind of hard-wired sensor that you connect to SmartThings via some other means. This isn’t as simple as it used to be now that we no longer make the ThingShield, but there are still plenty of ways to make a binary sensor connect to the Platform if you’re interested in such tinkering.

You can go with the battery powered option as well, even if you live in an area with lots of weather. Just remember that most of these devices are rated for indoor use.

Some people have had good luck sticking a door sensor into something like this: https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00REFK1A8/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o01_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I don’t, however, have an outdoor specific solution that I’d be comfortable recommending to you.

Perhaps someone else with a gate sensor can chime in!

3 Likes

Well what do you know… the strips are outdoor rated!

These sensors are awesome and I DO feel comfortable +1’ing this recommendation

3 Likes