Outdoor Camera that works with Smarthings?

Hello All,

I am new to joining this forum. I am looking for an outdoor camera that works or integrates with Smarthings. I currently have two Arlo camera’s which work ok. But I’m looking for a camera that provides 24/7 recording with cloud storage, Ir for night vision, preferably wireless and that I can set up with my current SM automation. Any information would be helpful.

I would also like something without a monthly fee for the recording feature if possible.
Ruled out options

• Arlo Q

• Blink

• Samsung smartcam

1 Like

I looked about but couldn’t find anything that suited my requirements quite right. In the end I went for a standalone wired (PoE) CCTV system which was considerably cheaper than the things I were looking at to integrate with SmartThings. The system has a mobile app and the cameras can be viewed remotely, so I’ve managed to get SmartThings to show a live feed from all four cameras. I now want to try and reverse engineer how to tap in to the motion detection events so that I can integrate SmartThings notifications etc

1 Like

If you’re looking for 24/7 recording you can rule out true wireless. That would kill your batteries. However, you can set your Arlo cams up to do this if you wanted through ST.

@leedjones you can try setting up a motion sensor outside. I have 4 Arlos outside and I set up a motion sensor along with one of them because I needed wider motion sensing in that area

@leedjones I think a Poe camera would work but I’m not sure what options there are that have some integration with Smarthings. I wanted the camera outside to record 24/7 and be view-able from a phone and have cloud capability. Any options that could work outdoors. Most cameras I found that are poe are indoor units or can’t be viewed with Smarthings.