Original SmartThings Hub - DHCP Problems

Hello,

I have an original (KickStarter) Smart Things hub. It sat in the box for a LONG time, and I finally decided to get it going. I’ve been trying to get it working for the last several weeks – I had never installed it until I got the Amazon Echo and wanted to get the integration going.

When I first installed it, it came up and worked immediately, and then did it’s updates. Then after about a week or two strange stuff started to occur. I’ve found a REALLY strange issue related to DHCP and your hub that I cannot resolve. I’m hoping that someone can shed some light.

For some background, I’m a computer engineer, I write networking protocols, and I have over three decades of experience with DHCP … I’ve run a wireless ISP, and my house is thoroughly wired. I have three DSL lines at my house. I use DHCP for numerous devices across my network, and have about 60 devices that use DHCP in my house. I have a DHCP pool of 100+ addresses and they are not all used.

When I plug the Smart Things hub into my network … it just won’t accept the DHCP address being given to it. It asks over and over – sending requests about ever second or two. I can use a network analyzer and watch the packets go back and forth … the Smart Things hub sends the request – my Linux server sends the address – and the Smart Things hub ignores this and asks again.

I can plug any other device in the exact same port … and the other device will work fine. I can use the same cable, and the other device works just fine. I’ve moved the Smart Things hub all over my house, and even plugged into the main DLS modem … and it fails. I’ve tried multiple different cables also. I’ve used cables from other devices that work.

I can take a Raspberry Pi, or a laptop … use an Ethernet cable … plug into a port … and it works perfectly. Unplug the cable from the device and plug it into the Smart Things hub … no go!! Non-stop requests streaming in the DHCP log file.