No "Unlock" Option for Galaxy Device (October 23)

I’m new to this - trying to unlock a locked Samsung Galaxy S22 phone from the Smart Things site, but it’s not giving me an “unlock” option. Don’t want to do a factory reset, and locked out for 8 hours. Pretty sure ‘Remote Unlock’ is set up for my phone. Does anyone know why the ‘unlock’ button is not showing?

1 Like

It is all about helping you to protect and retrieve a ‘lost’ phone. The ‘Lock’ command doesn’t lock your phone using the normal settings, it allows you lock the phone with a fresh PIN, display an emergency contact number which can be called by the phone, lock the power button so the phone can’t be turned off, and display a message. If your phone is already locked it will tell you but you can still go ahead and lock it again. So that means you can set a one use PIN to get into your phone.

Whether that ultimately helps you much if you have forgotten the existing PIN is another matter. I can’t remember. It definitely gets you in though.

2 Likes

Thank you for this information. So I set up a one use PIN, however, due to the number of failed attempts, it says I can’t access it for approximately 22 more hours. Does this mean that once this has passed, it will allow me to enter the PIN to access?

1 Like

Sorry, no idea.

Thanks. Is there any way to make the Unlock icon appear as pictured?

1 Like

Ah, right. Now I understand why you were expecting to see an Unlock button. I have Remote Unlock enabled and I don’t see the Unlock button either, and of course it is supposed to do exactly what you want by wiping the existing lock settings.

Samee! I locked my device using smartThings and now I can’t unlock it because the option disappeared and I can’t reset this device either!

Multiple people have been reporting about this issue on galaxy devices in the last 24 hours.