Need for loud ringtone on phone from alarm condition

Ok, SmartPeople using SmartThings,

I’m new to SmartThings and have installed a bunch of sensors and devices with no problem. One of our uses is as a home security system and it is functioning perfectly. When we are home, the siren provides ample notification of an alarm condition. However, when we are out of the house, SmartThings can only issue a text message or push notification. Both of these use the standard short and simple audible notifications provided by Android (I’m using a Samsung Galaxy S5 from ATT). These sounds would not be enough to wake me from a sound sleep were I in a hotel and an alarm condition triggers.

So, has anyone found a way for SmartThings to initiate a custom ringtone on Android and/or Apple. Another solution would be to generate a phone call. I’m looking into whether IFTTT could provide a hook to do this but wanted to get the community’s response. This seems like a reasonable need for anyone using the system as a security system.

Thanks, in advance.

Dan

Use Tasker on Android to look for a specific string in a notification and then turn up the soundLevel and play an alert sound or TTS the notification text.

I assume Tasker on Android must be an active task at all times. The IF app on Android is an option but must be an active task. It would be better if there were no prereqs.

Thanks for the suggestion. I will look into Tasker

What other notifications are you getting from smartthings? If its just your alarm, why not set the sound to something more to your liking? And you could set the notification to priority so its louder/always on.

I’ve found a solution on IFTTT. ST can generate SMS messages based on alarm conditions. IFTTT supports an Android app that allows new SMS messages to be used as a trigger. ST seems to use the same phone number for all messages to my phone, so this number can be used as a trigger in IFTTT. (It works for both intrusion and water leak alarms.)