Multiroom and Smartthings - Whats the point?

Hi guys,

I am VERY new to home automation and have invested in a smartthings hub and a couple of R3 speakers. I also use Alexa.

My question is - what is the point in adding the multi-room speakers to smartthings? I need to use the Multiroom app to play music (no need for smartthings app) alexa will only send music to the speaker if its connected via bluetooth (and without any need for smartthings app).

It makes sense to add philips hue lights, webcams and the likes as i can access them fully via smartthings, but why bother with speakers? I have no interest in having audible alerts, i only ever play music.

Sorry if the question seems stupid - but i just dont get it!!

thanks!

Some People are interested in audible alerts though so they will think why not set it up for that if I have the speakers.

1 Like

Yer thats fine, i get that. Perhaps i was just expecting more functionality than there is.

I think the point, generally speaking, is to play music or get alert sounds, text-to-speech, etc. on your connected speakers in response to a condition or trigger that comes from ST (e.g. when you come home in the evening, turn on your home audio system, set the output to your connected speaker, play a particular Spotify station).

What else were you expecting?

Right so you are saying that you can set a trigger to play spotify through multiroom speakers via smartthings?

Fantastic! Thats EXACTLY the sort of functionality i want.

I cannot for the life of me work out how to do that however, any chance you can give a very brief overview? Or point to a thread that expains it? Nothing i can see in the smartthings app allows me to do anything like that…

Cheers