Looking for recommendation on outlets and button to control them

Hello All!

I’m new to SmartThings ( all I have atm is a Schlage z-wave door lock ).

I have a living room with no ceiling light. Instead we have 4 lamps, one in each corner. What I’m looking to do is to control all 4 lamps with a button panel. All I want is 4 configurations: All lamps on, Front lamps on/Back lamps off, Back lamps on/Front Lamps off, All lamps off.

So, it looks like I could accomplish this with a 4 button control, or a 2 button control ( using both press, and press and hold ). I saw the SYLVANIA Dimming Switch appears to work well, but in that article I can’t tell if I can just use it as a pair of buttons to trigger custom events.

In addition, I’m not sure which outlets to buy, I’d like to get the kind that just plug into an existing outlet, and don’t replace the outlets themselves.

I’m open to any and all suggestions. I’d love to keep everything in local processing if possible. Can zigbee and z-wave be mixed? Would going pure z-wave or pure zigbee make the reaction time quicker?

Thanks!

Button stationary or mobile?

For outlets, I really like the Iris Smart Plugs. They have Power Monitoring and are fuss free. I also have about 15 peanuts and they work great as well but has no power monitoring.

If you wanted a portable button Controller, then the Minimote would be a good choice.

If you wanted something stationary, you might want to consider a cheap tablet running action tiles in Kiosk mode. Sooo cool!

However, there are other options…

@JDRoberts

Sorry, guys, had a bad night and I’m really not feeling well, I have to leave it to others to go into details. :face_with_head_bandage:

Meanwhile, here is the buttons FAQ which lists all the button devices that currently work with SmartThings, so it should be of interest (this is a clickable link)