Local Control options for particle proton board?

I’m kinda new to smartthings, and I’ve searched around, but I probably haven’t put in the right keywords to find answers.

I’m looking at undercabinet light options. I bought some of the sylvania smart+ lights, but I thought they’d be brighter. I like that they can be locally controlled for on/off, but i wish you could also locally control the other settings (dimming, color, etc).

I’m considering getting some sk6812 rgbw strips off amazon and making my own controller. I’m hoping they will be much brighter, and I like they are individually addressable, so I can make them dance with music, shimmer, etc. I’ll probably also put some outside for next christmas if it works well.

I’ve seen some good articles on how to control them with the particle proton board. I was wondering if the is any way to do local control with an added zigbee or z wave module. That would allow me to put some pattern on the lights when the alarm goes off, and still have it work if the internet is out. I know you can’t put custom code and have it run locally, but I was wondering if I could make my device look like 5 (or however many) switches to smartthings and have it run locally.

Maybe options for spoofed switches would be:

1. Normal white lights (nice to have local)
  2. Team colors for game day
  3. Dance with music
  4. Alarm (nice to have local)
    Etc

Basically it would be like a scene, but the actual execution of the scene would be done on the mcu for the lights, and smartthings would just think it is flipping a switch.

Anyone done anything like this?

1 Like