Lights options for outside

I am just getting into HA and ST. Other than few small hurdles, am enjoying ST and building my house out. Current project is putting in dimmer switches in house as we replace can ceiling lights in ceiling with led (100 watt equiv). The dimmers themselves are linear WD500Z. Even at $30 ea, things are getting expensive fast. time to consider outside projects…

In looking at front house changes, I am debating on 1) putting dimmer switch for front of house and an outdoors motion sensor, with eventual replacement of physical lights later. Option 2) would be to buy the physical lights with motions sensors prebuilt in, but no connection to ST.

First option seems to give more control (ST). Option 2 would be cheaper and easier, and similar results can be achieved… Keep lights dim till motion is detected, then increase brightness, plus auto on when it gets dark.

So what are others doing for outside? As a side question, when replacing internal switches, did you do all or just a handfull?

Hello Malathan, I would pick up an Aeon Labs motion sensor which are outdoor rated and an additional Linear WD500Z Dimmer. Then you can have lights turn of and on when someone approaches your house, on a timer or when you arrive home as well as many other cool app’s that you could work with. If you replace your lights you will have less functionality than utilizing Smartthings which is too cool!!

For my outside lights I went with the Aeon Labs Micro Illuminator G2 Light Dimmer and their motion sensor

I replaced the switch for the outside lights and used the Sunrise/Sunset app to have them on at night and off during the day. I like having the outside lights on at night as a deterrent for bad guys and since I have LED bulbs in them I’m not throwing too much money down the drain.

is this the one that wont sense small dogs?