Leaksmart water valve app help please

I just installed the leaksmart water valve. Easy install after watching a couple of youtube video’s showing how to cut the pipe and use pushfit fittings. Smartthings considers the valve a “smartpower outlet v1”. The valve opens and closes well with the app, but when i open the app it always defaults to saying it is in an “off” position (even if it is in an “on” position). Is it possible to change this? I would like it to tell me the right status when i open the app. I am new to smartthings so i really need step to step instructions. Thanks

1 Like

I saw those at one of my local Lowes, but I already have another solution in place that’s similar.

Do you want the app to show on as meaning it’s in an open position flowing water, and off being that it’s closed? If so, there may already be a standard SmartThings device type you can use, or a custom one that would do the trick.

I believe “off” means the valve hasn’t been tripped (off = nothing to be alerted about).

Yes. I just want it to show “on” for “open” and “off” for “closed”. But not default back to “off” each time i open the app.

How can i download another device type? Do you know which one to choose?

@jamiesmart,

I think you should change the device type from “smartpower outlet v1” to “Zigbee Valve”. That should be what you want.

Have you used the developer’s site yet? (https://graph.api.smartthings.com). That’s where you can change the device type for your devices.

Hi @jamiesmart,

I see you just joined, so Welcome!

You need to get set up on the developer website that I mentioned above. It’s super simple. Just go to https://graph.api.smartthings.com/ and register.

Once there and logged in, you’ll want to go to My Devices.

Find your device for the valve in the list that comes up, and click on it.

Once that comes up, scroll down to the bottom, and click on “Edit”.

Now, look for “Type *”, and change that to “Zigbee Valve”. It will be almost at the end of the list.