Kwikset 914 zwave not reporting battery level

Continuing the discussion from Lock Code Manager:

There are several threads in the past year that mention issues about battery levels being sporadically reported (or not at all). My two Kwikset 914 Z-wave locks are both reporting 80% and they were polled once, just several days ago. I have serious doubts that the level reported is accurate, because I have been using these locks for more than 6 months. My family is no longer carrying keys, so running out of batteries could be a costly event.

I have an open support ticket about this issue, but so far I was instructed to reset the locks, exclude/include, pull the batteries out, etc. I am not sure that any of these have worked. Is there anyone here that is getting updates consistently/periodically for their locks?

From another thread related to this issue:

ST Support’s only advice {to me} for missing lock battery status is to:

1. Exclude/include your Z-Wave Lock
  2. Remove old batteries, Insert refresh batteries
  3. Reboot the V2 Hub
  4. And finally do the “Hokey Pokey”
  5. Wait, Rinse & Repeat

When I communicated back to ST Support that the lock battery display worked as expected in V1 hub, but not in V2, they still replied (after 24 hours) with the exact same helpless message, like this is NOT a ST V2 issue, which I have seen several V2 migrators reporting this exact same issue.

I think that lock battery status is periodically pushed by the Z-Wave lock to the ST device handler, at some random frequency. I am not certain why the Kwikset 916 lock in acting differently with this V2 hub than V1, but all of a sudden the lock battery display reports 100% for my batteries that have been in the lock for 21 days of use…

I am bit suspicious that this battery status is inaccurate, luckily the 916 Kwikset beeps when battery levels are low. So much for a simple battery status by SmartLessThings