Just getting started on the automation

Apologies in advance here as I’m a newbie. I am trying to use Smart Lights App to enable some vacation events:

• Turn on lights at sunset.
  • Turn off lights at 1:00AM.

I can’t seem to find where to Activate/deActivate the Vacation routine from ST in the app on my phone. I’ve created and saved it on the phone (its says its saved and running), but where do I find to activate/deactivate? I can’t seem to find the app on the phone.

I’m looking to get something going quick as I leave for a business trip shortly and I’ve just installed my first two switches. Longer term it seems that vacation director has many of the more advanced features for which I’m looking.

Any guidance and/or pointers to documentation/examples appreciated.
thanks.

Use smart lighting that’s in the app under smart apps

Hi,

I see that I can use routines or the smart lighting app to accomplish my objective. I’ve chosen to go down the route of the smart lighting app. However, it’s not clear to me with either option (SL app or Routines) how to enable/disable the execution.

I’m thinking that I don’t want vacation rules being executed until I need them and I can’t see where to turn them on/off. Am I forced into doing this through the use of modes? I am missing something here and the documentation is sparse.
Thanks.

@Tango If vacation routines are only to run when your entire household is gone then the best solution is to use modes to activate and deactivate.

Put the house into vacation mode and set those routines/lighting apps to run only in that mode.

When you set the smart lighting triggers there will be an option to only do it in a specific mode. Can create a mode called vacation or just add it to the default away routine

Hi,

I’ll start down the automation path by learning routines/modes. Here are some questions: