Ignore sensor feedback between certain hours

Hello All,

Even if I started my smart home projects for over one year now, each time I do a new configuration I realize I am still a rookie :P.

I need your help with the following situation:

I use a smartthings v2 hub and several sensors and devices throughout the house.
I have a Xiaomi motion sensor on the hallway controlling the Ikea bulbs during night only. Basically I use webcore (see below snapshot) to set up the lights to turn on if there is movement on the hallway between 8pm and 7am and turn off if there is no movement for 20 seconds. there is also an open/close sensor in the piston but that can be ignored.
The problem is that, even if I use time restriction, the 20 seconds countdown takes place in whenever motion is detected on the hallway (or better say not detected after it has been triggered), meaning I get to see the countdown in webcore even if I am outside the specified timeframe. This means the network itself get’s flooded with events of the sensor even when it should be ignored.
Countdown

Is there any way to make Smartthings/webcore simply ignore the sensor and only consider the sensor activity between the specified hours? Indeed the lights do not turn on outside the timeframe, however the piston gets executed…

Thank you!

You have to set the timerestriction for every IF that needed.

1 Like

Thank you Jepajo,

Your response made me think of a way to stop the countdown from starting when not needed.

I did set a restriction indeed, however not a time restriction, but a device state restriction, basically making the last statement take place (the one with motion inactive), only if the light are on :smiley:

Thank you!

1 Like

I have added “Guest” mode to location modes. It is controlled by virtual switch “Guest(s)”.