IFTTT couldn't connect to Smartthings

I just switched to ST from years of being a Wink person. I was hoping to take advantage of the open platform being a software developer myself. My excitement rapidly faded when I was unable to integrate my ST hub with IFTT (deal breaker for me if it doesn’t work).
I tried from the IFTT app, the IFTT browser version, nothing works.
As soon as you try to “add” the ST service to IFTTT, it pulls the ST auth page. I login successfully, select my hub, my devices then click Authorize.
I get then redirected back to the IFTTT app, that still displays the “Connect” button.
Same behavior with the desktop IFTTT web site. The only difference is that when you get redirected back to the IFTTT website, you get an error that reads “Could not connect to Smartthings”.
In the ST app, when you go to to Automation"-> “SmartApps”, you can see IFTTT with the proper access you selected earlier from the devices drop down when you connect IFTTT to ST.
Any ideas?

1 Like

This is a bug that turned up just a few days ago. :disappointed_relieved: There are a couple of existing discussion threads on it.

It’s also listed in the first bug reports in the community – created wiki. That’s a good place to check if you encounter a problem that’s not listed on the official status page.

http://thingsthataresmart.wiki/index.php?title=Bug:_First_Reports

Thanks! Yes I found out many other people are experiencing the same issue. IFTTT is a real pillar of any decent home automation solution. It’s a real bummer. It takes away all the excitement to contribute to the community and build some apps. Hopefully they’ll fix the bug soon. I’m keeping the ST hub packaging just in case I get fed up and decide to return it.

1 Like

I understand. Having the IFTTT channel/service has always been a big plus for SmartThings, so I’m sure it’s very frustrating not to have it working. :scream: