HUB Will Not Pair Smartthings Motion or Door Sensors

I have been using smartthings for about 3 years now, and I really found it to be great. I converted over from Homeseer and actually didn’t have any issue moving all of the Homeseer switches as well as Schlage locks, GE Switches and several other misc devices. With that said, I have run into a problem this week. I was trying to add some Samsung Door/Window sensors and a Samsung Motion sensor, but no matter what I do, I can not get them to pair. I have tried three different W/D sensors so I know it is not the sensors. I tried the general exclusion and initially two of the W/D were excluded, but I cannot get them to join. I have rebooted the Hub from Website interface, nothing. I have removed the batteries and unpluged the Hubv2 to reboot but that hasn’t worked. Repaired the Zwave network, nothing. I have been working on this for over a week now! I did see another user had an issue with some GE switches, but these are SAMSUNG!! Aren’t they suppose to be seemless?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

two things to check…

1. if you have any custom device handlers installed in IDE, you may need to open them and choose Publish for Me. There is a known issue where device handlers can become stale preventing you from adding the devices.
  2. if moving any zigbee devices from another hub, you should try resetting them
1 Like

Samsung SmartThings brand devices don’t use zwave. Most of them use zigbee, a few of the newer ones use WiFi. So general exclusion (a zwave utility) and repairing the Z wave network won’t make any difference at all as far as smartthings brand devices.

Most likely you have to individually reset the devices and then you can add them.

We need to know the model numbers of each sensor. They should be on the back of the sensor or possibly inside the battery compartment.

1 Like