How are you guys "Automation-triggering" your Fibaro RGBW (confused Noob here)

OK so I installed 16’ of RGBWW LED lighting beneath my kitchen cabinets; and connected it without any troubles to my Power supply and Fibaro RGBW controller. Smartthings Immediately associated the Proper controls to it, so I can successfully control intensity of White, of RGB, adjust the color wheel, and use all of the preset buttons (ie Red, White, “Police”, “Storm”, etc). When activated manually using my phone, Everything works perfectly (well, the “fire” is a bit green but thats not a big deal).

My question, is how on earth to I schedule it to come on or initiate these presets using triggers??

I THOUGHT I could use Marketplace > Lights & Switches > “Smart Lights” because it seems to ask all of the right questions, and give me almost all of the same options as the Manual Control, however nothing actually works properly. Most the time my little scheduled “tests” just seem to result in a whole lot of ‘nothing’ happening.

I can find lots of threads here about getting the controls to work but I think my problem has to do with automation… Maybe I am going about it all wrong. Any advice?

The Fibaro RGBW controller is an unusual device because it is a controller in itself. You will store different patterns in it, I think it’s up to five different ones. Those are your presets. ( and everyone agrees “fire” is too green. :sunglasses: )

I think most community members have written their own smart apps to automate the use of the particular patterns that they have selected.

That said, @Motley did write a more general purpose smart app which allows you to assign any one of your five patterns to a virtual switch. So you select the patterns that you want in the fibaro controller, then that smart app lets you assign each pattern to a switch. Once you have that set up, then you will be able to automate the use of those switches.