Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007/U Thermostat Operating State?

Hi all, I’m new to the SmartThings & Z-Wave community. Looking forward what I can do with more things!

I setup 2 of the Honeywell YTH8320ZW1007/U thermostats and got them into the hub. It was quick and painless.

I have 1 question - seems like there’s some good information missing from the SmartThings Thing settings page for these devices. The manual shows that there is a Z-Wave option to get “Thermostat Operating State”. This would be great info to have on the thing info page for the thermostat. It can tell me if the thermostat is on, off or pending. Great info to know what it’s doing.

Here’s the snippet from the user manual:

Thermostat Operating State
The thermostat can send the message containing the actual state of the HVAC equipment
based on equipment state change.
The thermostat provides the following operating states:
•	 Idle - no equipment on
•	 Heating - heating equipment on
•	 Cooling - cooling equipment on
•	 Pending Heat - minimum off time applied to protect the heat pump compressor
•	 Pending Cool - minimum off time applied to protect the heat pump compressor

Am I missing something? Is there a way to add it?

When you tap on the little gear next to it’s icon on the Things page it doesn’t show? You might not see the two pending modes.

There’s plenty of items that show, just not the state of the equipment.

For example in this screenshot, it does say “Cool”, but that’s just the mode it’s in. It’s summer so I have it in air conditioner mode (aka Cool).

What I’m looking for is whether or not the equipment is on or off. I would like it to say “Idle” or “Cooling” so that I know what it’s doing.

I don’t see that anywhere here. Thoughts?