FAQ: When a community created device type is changed,do I have to manually update it myself?

Hello everyone, forgive me if this is covered, my search skills may be lacking. I’m an ST noob but been in IT for quite a while so not completely hopeless.

I have some questions about updating code for community made device/apps. I am slightly confused with the changes and updates and how to apply them. When someone updates the code for a device, I manually copy/paste and publish. I see some posts saying that people need to remove then add device for code to work and others do not. My question is what is the easiest way to stay updated on code changes for devices and apps? Does it have to be manually done or can you publish automatically from the developers changes? Thanks in advance.

That’s a great question!

I think there are two situations, one where the device will have to be re-configured in order to use the new code, and one where it doesn’t.

I think you still have to do the manual cut-and-paste yourself, though, both cases. It’s just a question of whether you also have to remove the device from the network and re-pair it in order to force a configure as well.

But I may be wrong.

@Sticks18 or @tgauchat or @garyd9 or one of the other master coders who do a lot with device types should know. :sunglasses:

1 Like

I’d love to know the answer on this as well.

I suspect that anything that isn’t officially a published SmartApp or DeviceType would need to be manually updated, but I’m not sure if even published app/types update automatically. It would be nice to get to the point where, like on Google Play Store (and presumably the AppStore for iOS) that you can go to one area and tap to update any published apps/types that need to be updated.

With custom device types the end user needs to replace the current device code with the updated code in the IDE, then save and publish for me, that’s all that needs to be done.