Edit Native Smart Apps

(Danny) #1

Hello all,

I’m by no means a programmer. I’ve tinkered in the past and have a very technical background, so I don’t think I’ll have too much trouble picking it up. Currently, I have some native smart apps installed to do basic things around the house. Set alarms, unlock doors, etc. All of the smart apps I’m using were already available in the app. I’v registered to be a developer and started toying around with the IDE. I see several example apps and shared apps, but not the exact ones I have installed (The ones already available in the mobile app).

Can I find the exact apps that are already available / installed? When I go to my smart apps in the developer menu, it only shows newly created apps. Since I haven’t created any yet, I’d like to see the existing ones I’ve been using and learn from those.

Can I edit / debug an app that is running on my system now? For example, I have the “lock door after closed for a specified time” app. However, I’m experiencing some intermittent issues. I’d like to troubleshoot and try to understand if there are some glitches in the code or if it’s a hardware type issue. I used the live logging, but it doesn’t show me the code so I can understand whats going on.

Thanks for the help. I’m really looking forward to being a part of this community.

Danny

(Convinced ST will never be unbroken…) #2

Danny,

This is part of the mess that is SmartThings. Many of the apps that are available from the mobile app are available in the example apps in the IDE. But the ones that get assigned through Hello Home and the devices themselves are not.

Obviously you can only edit and republish apps that are available in the IDE.

(Tim Slagle) #4

Hello home is protected i think. As for the devices types. They are available through the example devices.

(Convinced ST will never be unbroken…) #5

You misunderstood me. I was referring to apps installed from the device interface.

(Tim Slagle) #6

Got ya :smile: