Device Handler for Yoolax zigbee motorized shades

Update

I’ve since fixed up my custom device handler, see link below to GitHub. It works well for older and new Yoolax shades (as far as I can tell) and works well with the new SmartThings app. I’ll keep my original question below, but wanted to let people know there’s a Device Handler they can try out for themselves without digging through the whole thread.

Original Post

Greetings! I hope I am posting this in the right spot. I’m very new to SmartThings development (like, I started yesterday but have been looking at it for a little while longer). I recently got these Yoolax zigbee motorized shades from Amazon and after a lot of searching, found that a custom Ikea device handler by a4refillpad can be used to control them. And it can, but it’s not perfect. So I forked the device type repo and attempted to smooth the rough edges. I think I’ve been fairly successful so far, but there is work to do. For example, I had to change the way it detects position and direction of movement because events frequently come in out of order. But it’s working 90% now. Well enough for daily automation (setting different positions throughout the day).

My big problem now is that the device handler was clearly written for Classic SmartThings and I am at a complete loss on how to convert it to New SmartThings with full functionality. In Classic, there is battery level, buttons to open fully, close fully, pause, and refresh. In New SmartThings there is only set level (0-100) and a status indicator which presents a dropdown that can be used to fully open/close, but it’s confusing.

I’ve done a fair amount of googling and I just can’t wrap my head around the new way of doing things, at least insofar as converting an old project to the new way. It seems most of the discussion is at an advanced level way beyond where I am. I’m hoping for some help!