Controlling Keen Vents with SmartThings Hub

Okay, I’m less than a newbie here; I bought a Samsung SmartThings Hub, hoping to control my door lock, and that hasn’t worked, but in looking for help with problems with my Keen Home Vents, I stumbled upon posts about SmartApps that would control them. I’m using an Ecobee4 thermostat and 12 vents.

Then problem I’m having is that they seem to disconnect, not respond, etc., some but not all, and it appears they may be more stable with a SmartThings Hub. I found some posts about Keenect, for example, but tried to follow the setup instructions and got COMPLETELY lost. I’m computer literate, but apparently not SmartApps literate, and when someone says “Pop into your IDE” (it took hours to figure that out) “click on the SmartApps tab then Settings” (there are no Settings on my SmartApps tab, but then I don’t have any SmartApps), and “If your Git integration is broken” (I signed up on Git, but have no idea why or what it does), I feel like I landed on a different planet.

I’m not interested in programming, but would like to manually, and perhaps automatically, control my Keen Vents with some kind of app, other than what Keen Home provides for use with their hub. Is this something I can manage? Would it be controlled from my smartphone’s SmartThings app? If so, IN SIMPLE STEP_BY_STEP instructions, what app do I get and how can I install and use it?

Thanks in advance for any help in this new-to-me and very confusing topic.

1 Like

@yvesracine to the rescue!

1 Like

Forgot to mention, that while I have found, and been able to pair, my Ecobee4 thermostat with the SmartThings app, I don’t see Keen vents or anything similar listed, so don’t know how to pair them to SmartTehings.

Try using the Classic app to pair them. I have 11 of them paired that way.