Connect SmartThings WiFi Mesh to existing wireless Router

Good Morning All,
Complete Novice here.

Just purchased Samsung SmartThings Wifi system with Smart home hub.

Currently have a cable modem with Cat5 running to a wireless router.

Wireless router also has Four “Out” ports, two of which have Cat5 cables running out of them to provide hardwired internet to two work computers.

I purchased this mesh system instead of purchasing multiple “extenders” to place around the house, but I am not sure this was the best option.

So, here is my problem.

I can’t “Replace” my current wireless Router with the Samsung SmartThings Wifi-hub and plug it directly into my Modem because the hub only has ONE “Out” port and I would like to have both of my work computers Hard Wired for internet.

So, I thought I’d keep my current Router and use one of the two remaining “Out” ports to provide internet to the Mesh Hub. However, when I do this the SmartThings App says it can not detect the Hub, even though the hub is blinking red and green.

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance,

William

I’m not sure that the end result is going to be exactly what you want, but you should be able to put the Samsung device into “bridge mode“ and then connect to the existing Wi-Fi.

Your Samsung model has plume, right?

The following official support page has instructions for multiple Samsung models. Choose the “SmartThings WiFi” to see the instructions for models with plume.

One more thing to be aware of while you are probably still in the return period…

The Samsung Wi-Fi mesh systems are unusual in that they can only work when you have an active Internet connection. That is not true of most Wi-Fi mesh systems, such as eero or ubiquity: those will be able to continue to run a local Wi-Fi network even without Internet. But with the Samsung systems, if the Internet goes out, the Wi-Fi also goes off.