Can you create separate "modes" for Smartthings?

Hello I am new to Smartthings and I am trying to create different types of mode so that different sensors and actions would create different results based on the mode - this is what I was thinking so far:

• [ ] Security mode: Motion sensors & door/window sensors turns all lights on along with siren
  • [ ] Bedtime mode: Motion sensors turn on all lights for period of five minutes
  • [ ] Regular mode: Motion sensors do not activate lights

Is this done for creating scenes or how do you do that?

Yep, there is literally an option called ā€œModeā€

Have a look in the Routines, and you will see a setting that says ā€œOnly action if this mode is activeā€ or something along those lines.

I think there are 3 default ones, Home, Away and Night. You can add more if you wish

This is good advice, but donā€™t discourage the use of modes. They are very convenient. If you want automations to occur only in certain modes, then you only have to program for that mode.

I use CoRE to set up my automations and then use mode restrictions to limit each mode to certain actions.

I have 7 modes in my system and love the way it works.

Remember, each users need are unique. What works for one doesnā€™t work for all. The great thing about ST is that a user can pick and choose what they want to and do not want to use in their system.

So, I encourage users to try everything and see what works best for them.

5 Likes

Unless you are doing bare minimal in ST then there is no need for the IDEā€¦however, if you want to get the best out of ST then you MUST use the IDE.

Saying that, it is quite simple to create new modes and modes are one of the key ingredients in my HA.

Another is CoRE. It is THE rule engine that should have came with ST.

I have about 6 modes that cover most of my 136 devices. YMMV.

3 Likes