Best way to build 3, 4, 5-ways Z-wave association with SmartThings

I am new to SmartThing and relatively new to Zwave. I got association to work years ago using the Aeon Minimote remote v1.0 (earlier version) with an Interlogic Simon XTI panel supplied by alarm.com. I am migrating and upgrading everything from alarm.com over to SmartThing. Can anyone confirm the following so I know what direction I should take going forward. (ps. So far, love that smartthing hub come with its own zwave excluding util on the hub)

1. Do I add the Aeon Minimote into SmartThing just like another z-wave device
  2. Do I need the version 2 of the Minimote for association with SmartThing, or would version 1 (it has number on the top four button versus bunch of square shape. And version 1 only has a button say join)
  3. Can anyone post the step by step process and order on how to add in the controlling switch (it is Evolve), controlled switches, and the Minimote remote? I am assuming you first all three of them in but than what?
  4. As I state it before, the version of Minimote I have is version 1. The buttons its has say 1, 2, 3, 4, Device +, Device -, and Join (with a wifi like Logo). Which button do I used to add to SmartThing? Which button do I use for association?

Any feedback would be much much appreciated

Either version of the minimote is capable of doing an association Between 2 zwave classic devices In association group 1. However, association changed significantly with zwave plus, and the minimote is not the best way if either of the devices is zwave plus, and I don’t believe it will work at all if either of the devices is using S2 or S3 security.

So these days most people do it differently, by using the “Z wave Tweaker.“ This is a DTH which will expose all of the configurable parameters for any Z wave device and let you change them. That includes association.