AlarmDecoder IoT Direct Connected Device Discussion

Th AlarmDecoder IoT project will be replacing the AlarmDecoder network appliance + SmartThings HUB + Classic SmartThings Application.

Using an ESP32 based controller and the STSDK to create an Direct Connected Device to the SmartThings new platform.

2 Likes

Anyone else seeing issues with some capabilities not being online?

This started a week(ish) ago and I am not able to track down any changes I made that caused it and yet no one else seems to be reporting any issues.

Hey man, I am a complete newbie to STSDK and IoT in general and have a huge favor to ask.
Would it be possible for you to do a YouTube livestream or a provide us with a recording on how you are going around in this code. Like form beginning to end? Maybe record your next project if its not too much to ask.

I have tried to go through the documentation and a lot of other resources but there isn’t much out there to help a beginner.

This is a link I followed and I don’t understand how to code my own device rather than just the samples provided in the repo - How to Build Direct Connected Devices

I even tried to understand your GIT repo but its just too complicated without some basic information that is unavailable.

Thanks!
Shivam

I am happy to help other developers help SmartThings but I am not sure that me making a Video on this subject would be effective. I am not a vlogger so I would spend too much time in doing the video script. Maybe a more effective solution to getting support from myself or others that are working on learning this environment would be to have some virtual discussions where we can all connect and discuss this subject? This is less structured so it should take a lot less resources to make a video and the final video can be used later by others for content. Maybe ST/SS can coordinate or sponsor these discussions?