Ademco/Vista 20P Interface

OK - So I am new to the Smartthings Community. I am wanting an interface to my Security system so that I can access the state of all of the various sensors built into it and also report on the state of the Alarm and use it as a trigger. I originally was looking at trying to do something with the AD2USB device - and decided against it for various reasons.

Now I am looking at building a device using a Arduino micro controller with the ZIGBEE interface card. I am looking at two approaches:

1. Connect each security zone to an input in the arduino and rebuild alarm logic in the controller

2. Access the data ports on pins 6 and 7 on the control panel and read the serial data.

I am thinking that option 2 will give me more rich data to be able to pass to smart things, as well as possibly enabling Smart things to arm and disarm the system, etc. Does anyone have any experience with this approach? It seems as if decoding/encoding the keys protocol on the alarm. I have found some specs on hacking this, but it may be overly challenging. Has anyone tried the same approach.

Specifically does anyone have any experience with parsing the data from the vista in this way?

I am also looking at a similar project with my Rain Bird irrigation system.

Whats the specs on your alarm system? Make/model?
I dont have any personal experience with this, but if it has a serial bus that should be a good jumping off point, as long as nothing is encrypted or proprietary.

Its an Ademco Vista 20P.

It does not have a serial interface, it just has the keybus interface.

@Robert_Rhea I’ve written on a couple of forums (you can look at my profile). I’ve done this already using a bus card through an ardiuno card. I’m on travel this week and I’m going to do my best to try and create project with better instructions.

Awesome! Looking forward to it! I’ll take a loo thanks.

Long time coming. It’s not near 100% on all the info but here’s a start.

Hey @craig, @Robert_Rhea