[WITHDRAWN] Community Admiration

I’m newish to ST and this community, but I’ve been here long enough to observe the some of the recent platform issues and developer ‘revolt’. I find it sad that this community has lately been consumed with such a negative outlook and resorted to withdrawing applications. I’m not a developer, nor have I been with ST long enough to have endured the stability issues that many have faced, but this community has become a bit toxic.

I can understand pulling support temporarily while the ST issues are fixed, but how does packing up shop and taking your code with you achieve anything except hurting us users?

12 Likes

Perhaps you should try writing your own app and getting it published. :wink:

20 Likes

Yup this used to be be an exciting place. People expect a lot for $100 when it comes to electronics. I get upset too but I don’t see any better options and I can only imagine how the ST team must feel.

5 Likes

I would be all for every community developer withdrawing support/code if it put enough pressure on ST to fix some of their basic issues. Because I have a hard time not seeing them come back to this platform if/when they do get fixed.

2 Likes

Wow… just wow.

5 Likes

I think the OP is right…by pulling their code they only hurt the users that worshiped them. Specific programs won’t make or break smart things – there will always be someone to create more code…someone that will work for groupie followers. This is an easy way out of the “free support” they volunteered to do…that just got to be overwhelming. That’s ok…but making excuses and pointing fingers…that’s just too much bad karma. Some have left their code on the system…most has the Apache license, that’s the right way to do it. They were smart, they created something good, but everything is replaced sooner or later…whether it be code or people. It’s how you choose to resign that most folks will remember.

7 Likes