Wiring GE Z-Wave In-Wall Switches and Fan

Hi Everyone. I’m a noob to the Internet of things and home automation.

I plan on getting a Smart Things Hub and an Amazon Echo in the coming weeks. The more research I do, makes me want to automate my home even more.

I am handy around the house and I am leaning towards wiring “in-wall” switches, versus buying individual smart bulbs (mainly because a ceiling fan takes 3 bulbs).

What are the correct items to purchase for a room where you have two dumb switches in the wall, 1 for the light and 1 for the fan? Do I have to buy the fan control switch and a dimmer from GE? Or do I buy the Fan switch and an Add-on?

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks in advance.

Jim

Hi Jim. Welcome to the community! You’re going to want the fan control switch and a dimmer. The add-on is for three way switches (where two switches control the same light). Good luck and have fun!

Hi Brice. Thanks for the advice. I had a feeling that would be the case. I guess I can understand why some will opt for just using the bulbs.

So, just to be clear, I would need one of each of the following?

Dimmer

Fan Switch

Or would you go with and On/Off Switch instead of a Dimmer?

Hey Jim, you want the GE 12730 for the fan itself and either the GE 12722 (non-dimming) or the GE 12724 (dimming) for the lights on the fan.

These are Z-Wave devices and are ‘paddle’ swithes, if you want Z-Wave toggle versions you need either the GE 12727 (non-dimming) or the GE 12729 (dimming).

Sadly there doesn’t appear to be any ‘toggle’ or ZigBee versions (toggle or paddle) of the GE Smart Fan control and just in case, do not use a standard dimmer on the fan itself!

Just to add I personally have the GE 12730 for the fan and the GE 12722 for the lights which I might change to the 12724 later on. They work great!

1 Like

Hi Benji. Thanks for the feedback and the model numbers.