Wind sensor (2019)

I am really new to smart things. I just purchased a Samsung SmartThings hub and an outdoor outlet. I want to setup some kind of wind sensor or plug into one in my local community that if wind is over 15mph it turns the outlet off.

I know there are 3 people within a couple miles of me with the wunderground weather stations and not sure if those allow a plug in. If not I could see buying my own but want to make sure it would be compatible with what I need it to do.

Any help on this would be greatly appreciated.

You can use the Smart Weather Tile/Station which would give you the current weather including wind speed and gusting, but as default it refreshes every 15 minutes. (can be changed, but you shouldn’t over use the WU API integration) You can use it with WU station IDs too. The Device Handler you can find it the SmartThings Public Repo on github, but it might be directly available in the IDE.
There is a custom DH for private weather stations connected to Ambient Weather, if you live in the US. I have seen some local WeeWX weather station integration to Smartthings too, if you are planning to buy one.
Or there is a z-wave wind gauge from POPP but I don’t know is there any integration for it. https://www.vesternet.com/products/z-wave-popp-weather-station

First things first: what country are you in? The device selection does vary somewhat. :sunglasses:

1 Like

@JDRoberts, is there anything what is natively supported by SmartThings for wind speed in any country? Zigbee, Z-Wave or Wifi? I don’t think of any C2C but anything?
I know Qubino had an integration for their Weather Station, which was working through a Z-wave station, but they are not selling it anymore as I know. And they haven’t had the “new” model when I asked them last.

I am in the United States.

See the following recent thread:

Simple wind direction (and maybe speed) sensor?